Festival Selections

Film categories include feature narratives, documentaries, short films, super shorts, animation, family and youth media, and Snowdance, a showcase of films by Alaskans or about Alaska. Festival entries are open to all films regardless of origin, content and genre.

Official selections include all films selected to be screened during the festival. Special presentations include films invited by AIFF to fortify our program. The films in competition represent the official selections chosen by our prescreening committee to go through the award jury process. About 20 percent of our official selections are entered into competition.

Official Selections
We enthusiastically announce the 2010 AIFF Official Selections. Our programmers chose the films that represent the best of international and independent cinema.

Films in competition are indicated with an asterisk (*).

For the festival schedule and detailed information for each film – including trailers, links to official web sites, and links to the films and filmmakers on Facebook and Twitter – visit our Festival Genius pages, or download a printable schedule in PDF format here.

Feature Films

Title Director Country
22:43 Markus Hautz Austria
Ashes Elias Matar USA
Bai Yin Di Guo [Empire of Silver]* Christina Shu-hwa Yao China
The Drummond Will* Alan Butterworth UK
Fannie, Annie & Danny Chris Brown USA
Hello Lonesome* Adam Reid USA
Karma Calling* Sarba Das USA
The Red Machine Alec Boehm
S. Argy
Rocksteady Mustapha Khan USA
The Silent Accomplice Erik Knudsen UK
Son Istasyon [Last Station]* Ogulcan Kirca Turkey
Temptation of St. Tony* Veiko Õunpuu Estonia
Ticked Off Trannies With Knives Israel Luna USA
The Violent Kind The Butcher Brothers
Phil Flores
Mitchell Altieri
The Wild Hunt* Alexandre Franchi Canada


Title Director Country
The Adjustable Cosmos Adam Duncan Australia
The Arctic Circle* Kevin Parry Canada
B-1033 Pawel Kryszak Poland
B/W Races* Jacopo Martinoni Italy
Birdboy Pedro Rivero Spain
Courageous Crustaceans Dayan paul USA
Don’t Tell Santa that Your Jewish Jody Kramer Canada
Flew The Coop Alex Luko USA
Fluffle Stephanie Franz USA
Go to Sleep Luis Carlos Uribe Columbia
Good Bot, Bad Bot! Marcus Ng
Nick Matthews
Hard|Soft Jason Maurer USA
Heart Erick Oh South Korea/USA
Helium Daniele Zannone Italy
Kings Barbara Mones USA
Kingdoms of Grace Natasha Baron Columbia
Kozak Mating Dance Amber Holowaychuk Canada
The Lift Robert Kohr USA
The Lighthouse Po Chou Chi Taiwan
Mei Ling F. Leroy
S. Lansaque
Millhaven* Bartek Kulas Poland
Not Over Easy* Jordan Canning Canada
Ode to a Post-It Note* Jeff Chiba Stearns Canada
Old Fangs Adrien Merigeau Ireland
On The Rise John Tupper USA
Ping* Jason Oshman USA
The Sasquatch and the Girl Trevor Jones USA
Sketchi Lily Sun Canada
Summer Marc Wiskemann USA
Swing Yen-Ting Kuo Taiwan
Terranaughts Adrienne Drozdowski Canada
The Thomas Beale Cipher Andrew Allen USA
Threads Barbara Mones USA
Time Lines Suzanne Crocker Canada
Toothnapped George Dondero USA
Train+ing Joonjae Moon USA
The Windmill Farmer Joaquin Baldwin USA
The Wonder Hospital* Beomsik Shimbe Shim USA
Xing Michael Naphan Canada


Title Director Country
The Anatomy of Vince Guaraldi* Andrew Thomas USA
Camp Unity Ryan White Iraq/Kurdistan/USA
Ed Hardy: Tattoo The World* Emiko Omori USA
Escapeland Oren Tirosh Israel
Fernando and Boise Rubén Abruña USA
Full Disclosure* Brian Palmer USA/Various
Guests of Space Alba Mora-Roca USA/Columbia
Jr. Posse Michele Ervin USA
Keiko: The Untold Story* Theresa Demarest USA
A Life Ascending Stephen Grynberg USA
Miedos [Fears] Alberto Yoel Garcia Cuba
My Perestroika* Robin Hessman UK/Russian Federation
Old People Driving Shaleece Haas USA
Rainman Goes to RocKwiz Russell Kilbey Australia
Salam Rugby Faramarz Beheshti New Zealand
Samsui Women Derrick Lui Singapore
Sand Mountain Kathryn McCool Australia/USA
She Wore Silver Wings* Devin Scott USA
Stolen* Violeta Ayala
Daniel Fallshaw
Summer Pasture L. True
N. Walker
Tres Tristes Tigres [Three Sad Tigers] David Muńoz Bangladesh

Short Films

Title Director Country
Apocalypse Story Jeffrey Nesker Canada
Bedfellows Pierre Stefanos USA
Can We Talk? Jim Owens UK
Caron* Pierre Zandrowicz France
Communication Robert Crosby USA
A Day at the Park Spencer Stuard USA
Day Labor Brendan O’Neill Kohl USA
The Death of Toys Lisa Gold USA
Departure Lounge Louis Neethling UK
Dishonesty Timothy Watkins USA
European Son* Tyler Zelinsky USA
Flicker Landon Donoho USA
God of Love Luke Matheny USA
King Eternal* Ori Guendelman USA
Leather* James Boldiston Australia
The Long Lonely Walk* Leon Chambers UK
Missile Crisis Jaye Davidson USA
No Good To Me Andrew Killen New Zealand
The Noble Savage* Wesley Wingo USA
Not Worth A Bullet Markus F. Adrian Germany
Obsolesk Fernando Toscano USA
Quarter ’Til Two Tim Connery USA
Si Bemol [B Flat] Clara Martinez- Lá‡zaro Spain
Vento Marcio Salem Brazil
White Other* Dan Hartley UK


Title Director Country
The Beekeepers* Bryant Mainord USA (AK)
Hockey Shorts Michael Conti USA (AK)
How To Survive Ronald Jerry USA (AK)
Journey On The Wild Coast Greg Chaney USA (AK)
The Last Frontier John Walter Whittier USA (AK)
MUSH: The Movie* Alex Stein USA (AK)
Native Time* Sean Morris USA (AK)
Oblivion 1964 Peter Dunlap-Shohl USA (AK)
Parlez-Vous Eyak* Laura Bliss Spaan USA (AK)
A Portrait of Nikolai* Youth of Nikolai USA (AK)
Portrait of a Slackline Artist Jimmy Kinder USA (AK)
Rain Power* Hannah Guggenheim USA (AK)
Statehood! Laurence Goldin USA (AK)
Tour de Seward Kristopher Peck USA (AK)
A Visitor’s Guide to Alaska’s Rules of the Road-Firearms Bill Rome USA (AK)
The Yup’ik Way* Beth Edwards USA (AK)

Super Shorts

Title Director Country
Abeo Graham Nolte USA
The Arachnafist Mike Gray USA
Back Story Jeremy Dylan Lanni USA
Best Before Mark Boggis UK
Cheese! Damien Patrik USA
Cockles and Mussels Leonora Lonsdale USA
Coffee Shop: A Musical Mark Broe USA
Dumplings Wenhwa Ts’ao USA
Eclipse Soma Helmi Indonesia
Eulogy Maker* Leslie Langee USA
Falling Apart Christopher Valori USA
The Foal* Josh Tanner Australia
God’s Acre Alfredo Salvatore Arcilesi Canada
The Grudge Quentin Matheson Canada
The Informed Prisoner Sage Ewing USA
In That Moment* Shripriya Mahesh USA
John Henry David Coscarelli USA
The Kindly Ones Rupert Missick Bahamas
The Mailbox Joshua Wong Hong Kong
Menjadi Angsa Yang Balk James Boldiston Australia
My Apologies Adreas Golfuss Canada
Nothing Happened Suni Khan UK
Now and Forever David Goldstein USA
Nuit Blanche* Arev Manoukian Canada
Pantomime Zach Ginnever USA
PERSON Jennifer Liao Canada
Proposals Alexander Jeffery USA
Red Water Red Qing Xie Australia
Redemption Lawrence Lim Australia
Run Granny Run!* Nikolaus von Uthmann Germany
Salut* Jerry Rapp USA
Saving It Andras Novak Hungary
Soy Milk Veeran Naran Australia
Spare Tomer Almagor USA
Tattle Tail Warren Workman USA
Telefone Jeffrey Bliss USA
Til Døden Os Skiller [Till Death Us Do Part] Martin Vrede Nielsen Denmark
La Ventaja Del Sicario [The Advantage of the Hitman] Luis Moreno Bernardo Spain
Ventra Rami Katz Canada
The Verticals Matthew Walker Australia
The Wasp and the Caterpillar* Daniel Fazio UK/Italy
Waterfall Braide Keyland USA
When Life Gives You Lemons Lee Chambers USA
When They Were Little O. Corbin Saleken Canada

Special Selections

Title Category Director Country
Detention Short Film Aden Shillito New Zealand
Exploding Plastic Inevitable Documentary Ronald Nameth USA
Exporting Raymond Documentary Philip Rosenthal
Producer: John Woldenberg
The Glass Shield Feature Charles Burnett USA
Holding Hands Documentary K. Wilkinson
T. Stanford
Mutant Girls Squad Feature Noboru Iguchi
Tak Sakaguchi
Yoshihiro Nishimura
Nightjohn Feature Charles Burnett USA
Out of Gas Super Short Steve Stolee USA
The Owl in the Snow Super Short Neil Mansfield Australia