≡ Menu


IMG_2514RICH CURTNER President, Board of Directors

Rich Curtner has been a public defender for over 35 years. Since college he has been a “film buff,” and made several films the old fashioned way–on film with a hand-crank 16mm camera. He has been the Federal Defender for the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals in Alaska since 1996, and serves AIFF as Board President and as a Shorts Programmer.


DeanFranklinDEAN FRANKLIN Member, Board of Directors

Dean first volunteered for AIFF in 2009, and has since managed the festival website, and served on the board since 2012. He is a software developer for the Municipality of Anchorage and adjunct professor at the University of Alaska Anchorage. Dean is the man behind the curtain of all things tech-related, and the festival would not be possible without him!



KAREN MIOVAS Secretary, Board of Directors

Karen has been involved with the Anchorage International Film Festival since 2008. She began as a screener for the features program and in 2012 joined the board of directors. When Karen isn’t watching films, you can find her reading, traveling or hiking the great trails in Alaska.



KRISTIE NELSEN Member, Board of Directors

Kristie Nelsen has been on the AIFF Board since 2013. Her lifelong interest in the arts culminated in a master’s thesis on the 1931 film version of The Threepenny Opera. She is Development and Community Engagement Coordinator for the Anchorage Symphony Orchestra, a part-time youth services librarian at Loussac Library, and a tap dancer.



GEORGE POLLOCK Member, Board of Directors

George joined the AIFF Board of Directors in 2015, which was a natural progression with his involvement with the festival programming teams. He is a Shorts programmer.



IMG_2601MARA MICHALETZ Treasurer, Board of Directors

Mara is the newest member of the Board of Directors, balancing her law career with her new role as Board Treasurer. We are very excited to have her on board!